Testing Resources

At Parkview, we believe that high quality assessments provide valuable information to parents and teachers about the growth and achievement of their children. It is important to remember that each child's learning rate is unique and test scores are only one measure of a student’s academic progress. If you have questions regarding your child’s test results, or our assessment process, feel free to ask your child’s teacher, Jennie Miller (Test Contact) or Mike Zick (Assistant Administrator) by calling 952-431-8350.

Use the resources below to help your family get the most out of the assessment process.

Parkview Testing Calendar

MCA stands for: Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment
MCAs are given in reading and math for grades 3, 4, & 5.
The MCA science is given to students in grade 5.
The MCA is used to measure individual student achievement and test items reflect the depth and breadth of instruction required by the Minnesota Dept. of Education.
Students will receive a score that fits into one of the following categories for their overall math and reading performance:
E = Exceeds the standards
M= meets the standards
P= partially meets the standards
D = Does not meet the standards.
MN Pearson Perspective provides thousands of learning resources to support your child’s learning. All of the learning resources are aligned to the Minnesota Academic Standards. Use your child’s personal Learning Locator™ method to get targeted material based on student's assessment results. If your child is currently a 4th or 5th grade student, and completed MCA reading or math in 3rd grade, then they have been assigned a Learning Locator code. This code can be found on your child’s MCA Individual Student Report (ISR) that was mailed to you in August. Or you can ask your child’s teacher. Otherwise you can use simple navigation of the site to browse thousands of learning resources aligned to the standards. You will find the site linked on our school’s testing website - labeled MCA Perspective.

ACCESS testing is for students in the EL program. This state required assessment is administered to English learners in order to measure progress toward meeting Minnesota’s standards for English language development. English learners will be assessed in the areas of speaking, listening, reading, and writing.

NNAT2 stands for: Naglieri Nonverbal Ability Test: Second Edition
This assessment uses progressive matrices to allow for a culturally neutral evaluation of students’ nonverbal reasoning and general problem-solving ability, regardless of the individual student’s primary language, education, culture or socioeconomic background.
This is a 30 minute timed assessment.
This assessment will be administered to students in grade 1.
This assessment is given throughout our school district.

CogAT stands for: Cognitive Abilities Test
The CogAT measures students’ learned reasoning abilities in three areas most linked to academic success in school: Verbal, Quantitative and Nonverbal.
Each session has three tests within it. Each test is timed for 10 minutes.
This assessment will be administered over three days, with one session being tested on each of the days.
This assessment will be administered to students’ in grades 3 and 5.

MAP stands for: Measures of Academic Progress
MAP tests are given to students in math to Grades 2-5.
MAP tests provide highly accurate results that can be used to identify the skills and concepts individual students have learned and diagnose needs.
The difficulty of the test is adjusted to each child’s individual performance. As the student answers correctly, the questions become more difficult. If they answer incorrectly, the questions become easier.
The score that is given is a 3 digit number called a RIT score.
MAP will measure academic growth over time, independent of grade level or age.
This test is given throughout our school district.

BAS Stands for: Benchmark Assessment Systems
It is a literacy test for all students grades K-5.
The BAS assessments are administered 1-1 with the classroom teacher and/or an intervention specialist throughout the school day during the assessment window.
BAS assessments take place 4 times a year in order to guide literacy learning instruction.

Stacks Image 833